can you help
Our Lady of Mt Carmel - Mullewa
Nestled in the town of Mullewa is what is aptly named the ‘Jewel in the Crown’ of Monsignor John Hawes’s church designs.
The architecture is Romanesque-type, similar to churches in the South of France. The exterior has long low proportions reminiscent of the Spanish Franciscan Mission churches.
Hawes commenced sketches of the church in 1920 while holidaying in England and the foundations began in 1923. During the time of construction he was feeling rejected and humiliated by the non-acceptance of his design for the Perth Cathedral and the scorn given by Bishop Ryan re the unfinished Cathedral of St Francis Xavier in Geraldton. The personal, intimate and charming work of the Mullewa Church was to please himself and as he wrote to a friend, “my heart is in these stones”. Hawes wanted his church to signify the antiquity, romance and quaintness of he old hillside churches of Southern Europe.
The church of Our Lady of Mt Carmel was built almost entirely by this priest/architect with help from local farmers in the district carting stone from the neighbouring quarry. When the parish couldn’t afford to pay a mason, Hawes took on the job himself.
On entering this quaint building, to the right one can see the baptistry which is lit by natural light, with the side altars moulded and decorated in typical Hawes style. The choir gallery at the wet end houses a small pipe organ purchased by Hawes in memory of his mother who remained a Protestant all her life.
The nave consists of 5 bays spanned by transverse pointed arches which support the roof timbering. The dome over the sanctuary is constructed of handmade concrete blocks. On the summit of the dome is a circular lantern with glazed windows which filter light over the altar.
The base of the bell tower has a purpose-built slit in the wall so that the bell ringer can sound the consecration bell at the correct time. The tower contains 7 bells.
Due to an increase in the population, the northern transept “St Michael’s” was added in 1962 to blend with the existing building.
This delightful church although small is perfectly to scale. It is monumental in character and perfectly in tune with the landscape.
Play the Audio Tours
Visiting the building
The Church is located at 10 Doney St Mullewa and Priest House Museum is on the Cnr of Doney and Bowes Streets. They are open daily from July 7th to September 30th (10:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.) Mass is celebrated on Sunday at 8:30 a.m.
Enquiries: Phone: Barb Thomas 0427 623 053
CAN YOU HELP
The Mullewa Church and Priesthouse is open daily from July 7th - September 30th, however their volunteer numbers are dwindling, and they would appreciate any help they can get from outside sources. Volunteers would be required to open up the church and museum by 10:30 a.m. and welcome visitors. There's an audio guide available so there's no need to be too knowledgeable. Their advertised opening hours are 10:30 - 12:30 but this can be extended according to the availability of the volunteers.
There's a caravan park in Mullewa for those who would like to spend a few days in the town and accommodation could be provided for anyone considering an extended stay (a week or more).
If you are interested or would like further information please contact Barb Thomas (0427 623053).